Contact Us

(877) 359-9179

4800 S. Croatan Highway
Nags Head, NC 27959


The Outer Banks Hospital operates as a private, not-for-profit critical access hospital. The responsibility and authority for the management of the hospital and its subsidiaries are vested in its voluntary Board of Directors comprised of 10 members. Six members are appointed by Vidant Health and four by Chesapeake Regional Medical Center. Each of the two owners, Chesapeake Regional Medical Center and Vidant Health, is represented on the Board of Directors, in addition to Outer Banks residents. Members serve for a three-year, renewable term.

The Outer Banks Hospital Board of Directors

Dr. Ernie Larkin, Chair
Steve Rodriguez, Vice Chair
Susie Archer
Stuart Bell
Susan Fearing
Ed Gallagher
Tess Judge
Arthur H. Keeney, III
Roger G. Lever, MD, Chief of Medical Staff
Jody Midgette
Christine Petzing, MD
Roger Robertson
Ronnie Sloan, FACHE


Executive Staff


Ronnie Sloan 

Ronnie Sloan, FACHE

Ronnie Sloan received his Masters in Health Administration from Kennedy Western University in 1999, Bachelors of Health Sciences in Administration in 1990 and an Associate in Respiratory Therapy in 1985. Sloan was appointed as President in 2011. Previous to this appointment, he was the Administrator in charge of the 25-bed Swain County Critical Access Hospital and Swain Medical Center. In addition, Sloan served as Vice President of Support Services for the MedWest Health System, a three-hospital system with campuses in four counties with 2,100 employee and 304 beds.

Sloan is a fellow of the American College of Healthcare Executives. He serves as a board of director for Advanced Home Care, Inc and Provider Corporation. Additionally, Sloan has a clinical background as supervisor and respiratory therapist in South Carolina.




Todd Warlitner 

Todd Warlitner
Vice President,
Business Operations

Todd J. Warlitner, Vice President, Business Operations, joined The Outer Banks Hospital in 2002. He holds a BS in accounting from Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University.

Warlitner is a member of the American Institute of Certified Public Accountants and the Virginia Society of Certified Public Accountants. Before joining The Outer Banks Hospital executive team, he worked with Memorial Hospital of Martinsville and Henry County as the Director of Accounting. He is a member of the US Coast Guard Auxiliary, and serves as the Division finance officer and flotilla public education officer. He is a member of the Board of Directors of The Outer Banks Community Development Corporation. He enjoys boating and playing golf.




Marcia Bryant 

Marcia Bryant
Chief Nursing Officer 

Marcia Bryant earned her Bachelor of Science in nursing from UNC Greensboro and her master’s in nursing from East Carolina University. She was appointed Chief Nursing Officer in 2015 and brought nearly 30 years of nursing experience to the role. Leadership posts included director of cardiac services for Children’s Healthcare of Atlanta and administrative supervisor for Emory University Orthopedics and Spine Hospital.

She has also held nursing leadership roles in North Carolina, at Mission-St. Joseph Health System in Asheville and at what is now Vidant Medical Center in Greenville.




Amy Montgomery Amy Montgomery
Senior Administrator
of Operations

Amy Montgomery holds a bachelor’s degree in nutrition and dietetics and a master’s degree in health promotion from East Carolina University. Formerly the hospital’s Director of Community Outreach, Montgomery accepted the Senior Administrator of Operations role in 2015.

She is an established leader in our community. As the Health Education Supervisor for the Dare County Department of Public Health, Montgomery started the Miles of Smiles Mobile Dental Unit and the Peer Power Program. She also led the first Community Health Assessment for Dare County. She was also a key member of the committee that started the Outer Banks Marathon and Outer Banks Sporting Events, as part of her seven-year tenure as the Executive Director of the Dare Education Foundation.