Nags Head, NC – “Dr. Larkin will be a great addition to The Outer Banks Hospital Board,” said Roger Robertson, President of East Carolina Health. “His experience as a physician, a medical educator, and as a leader in healthcare organizations will add to the depth and knowledge of the Board. He is a strong advocate for safety, quality, and a positive patient experience.”

Bobby Owens, Chairman of the Board of Directors, echoed Robertson’s remarks. “We value Dr. Larkin’s experience. He brings immediate knowledge of the day-to-day workings at Pitt County Memorial Hospital.”

Larkin received his MD degree from the Medical College of Virginia in 1970 and completed his post-graduate training in Pathology there, including an American Cancer Society Fellowship in Surgical Pathology, in 1977. He joined the medical staff at Pitt County Memorial Hospital (PCMH) in Pathology in 1977 in private practice, and joined the faculty of the Brody School of Medicine in 1981. He was elected Chief of the PCMH Medical Staff in 1993 and has worked as the first Medical Affairs Officer and then Chief Medical Officer for PCMH since that time. Since November 2010, Dr. Larkin has been serving as Associate Chief Medical Officer of PCMH.

“I am pleased and excited about participating on the board of this fine hospital and appreciate the opportunity to be a part of the excellent service it provides,” stated Larkin.

In addition, Larkin has served on a number of community service boards, including the Pamlico Tar River Foundation, the Albemarle-Pamlico Estuarine Study, the NC Coastal Resources Commission and the NC Environmental Management Commission.

The Outer Banks Hospital parent corporations, University Health Systems of Eastern Carolina, based in Greenville, North Carolina, and Chesapeake Regional Medical Center of Virginia, appoint the 10 members of The Outer Banks Hospital board. UHS appoints six members and Chesapeake four. At least five board members must be Dare County residents. Board members serve two consecutive three-year terms.