The Outer Banks Hospital is pleased to announce the recipients of the 2017-2018 Community Benefit Grant Program. Grants are awarded for projects that will significantly increase access to healthcare in our community for nearly 2,500 individuals in need. The grants listed below equal $125,000 in support of local organizations that will provide services to meet a variety of community needs this coming year.

  • Community Care Clinic of Dare – Medical care for uninsured/low income patients
  • Dare County Health Department – Prenatal ultrasounds and Breast Cancer diagnostics
  • Dare County Transportation – Transportation of patients to medical care appointments
  • Hatteras Island Cancer Foundation – Medical assistance for Hatteras Island cancer patients
  • Hyde County Non-Profit Private Transportation Corporation – Transportation of patients to medical care appointments on the Outer Banks
  • Interfaith Community Outreach – Medical assistance and crisis intervention
  • NC MedAssist – Free pharmacy services shipped directly to patients’ homes

Funds are generously provided by Vidant Health, with support from Chesapeake Regional Healthcare and The Outer Banks Hospital’s Development Council. Since 2006, The Outer Banks Hospital has granted $1,319,840 to organizations, of which over $1 million of the funding has come from the Vidant Health.

The Outer Banks Hospital, located in Nags Head, North Carolina, offers a wide range of inpatient and outpatient services. A joint venture between Vidant Health and Chesapeake Regional Healthcare, the hospital opened in March 2002. The hospital’s mission is to enhance the quality of life for the residents and visitors of Dare County and the surrounding region by promoting wellness and providing the highest quality healthcare services.

Pictured Above (L-R): Jennifer Schwartzenberg, Director of Community Outreach & Development, The Outer Banks Hospital; Karen Brown, Chair, Community Benefit Grants Committee; Kristin Young, NC MedAssist; Don Cabana, Dare County Transportation; Wendi Munden, Hatteras Island Cancer Foundation; Beverly Paul, Hyde County Non-Profit Private Transportation Corporation; Rick Gray, Community Care Clinic of Dare; Debbie Dutton, Dare County Health Department; Jean Freeman, Interfaith Community Outreach; Jenniffer Albanese, Interfaith Community Outreach; Kahla Hall, Vidant Health Foundation; Tess Judge, Outer Banks Hospital Board Member and Chair, The Outer Banks Hospital Development Council.