The honor is awarded to hospitals that demonstrate a commitment to safety that results in an overall reduction in harm to patients over a measured three-year period. A total of 12 hospitals in North Carolina and Virginia were selected to receive the distinction. “This remarkable commitment to patient safety starts with the support of leadership,” said Erica Preseton-Roedder, PhD, MSPH and NCQC Director Quality Measurement, “The Outer Banks Hospital has clearly made a commitment to quality improvement and outcomes.” Pictured are presenters Elisabeth Mizelle, MPH NCQC Healthcare Data Analyst (far left) and Preston-Roeder (far right) and OBH leadership from left to right: Ernest W. Larkin, MD, OBH Board Vice Chairman; Elaine Campbell, OBH Director of Quality; Linda D. Palombo, OBH Board Chairman; and Ronnie Sloan, OBH President.